Home > Languages + Travel > indonesia

Days of the Week in Indonesian

Last Updated: 

Unlike English, where days of the week are named after the gods and goddesses from ancient Germanic, Norse, and Roman cultures, the names of the days in Indonesian are derived from numbers in the Arabic language, with a mix of Hebrew and Portuguese influences.

Days of the Week in Indonesian
Featured article photo: Mount Bromo, Indonesia by Pukpik (Unsplash License)

The five days from Senin (Monday) to Jumat (Friday) in Indonesian are correspondingly derived from the five numbers: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 in Arabic. 

Sabtu (Saturday) is also derived from the Arabic word as-sabt, though this is originally a loanword from the Hebrew word sabat which means “to end, to rest”.

The word Minggu (Sunday), was derived from the Portuguese word Domingo.

Here are the seven days of the week in Indonesian:

  1. Senin (Monday)
  2. Selasa (Tuesday)
  3. Rabu (Wednesday)
  4. Kamis (Thursday)
  5. Jumat (Friday)
  6. Sabtu (Saturday)
  7. Minggu (Sunday)

Learn Also

Want to Learn Indonesian? 🇮🇩

Get free vocabulary lists, frequently-used phrases, and podcast-style lessons IndonesianPod101. You can also sign up for a 1-on-1 learning experience and even live group classes if you prefer.